Dance Masters of Wisconsin

In November 1921, fifteen dance educators gathered in Milwaukee to form the Wisconsin Society of Teachers of Dancing.  Thirteen were from Milwaukee, one from Fond du Lac and one from Racine.  On March 20, 1933, under its new name of Dancing Masters of Wisconsin, Inc., the organization was registered with the state.  The papers were signed by Leo T. Kehl of Madison, Edna Christiansen of Racine, Julia Kuhlig of Milwaukee, and Gretchen Schmall of Milwaukee.  In 1994, under the presidency of MaryAnn Miller, the organization became officially known as the Dance Masters of Wisconsin and received non-profit status.  Some well-known dance educators that have been a president of DMW include F.W. Kehl, Leo T. Kehl, Virginia Lee Kehl Mackesey, Sue Girten, Adele Artinian, Jo Jean Kehl Janus, Richard Verhoeven, Virginia Davis, Marcia Fellows, Mary Katic, and Tanis Bean.

Dance Masters of Wisconsin hosts three workshops a year for students and one for teachers.  Membership in DMW is granted through examination.  Currently DMW offers exams in Ballet, Tap, and Jazz.  To be accepted into membership you must have taught for a minimum of three years, be 18 years or older, and pass two out of three exams offered.  However, allowances have been made for people who only teach one dance discipline.  Membership testing is held the day prior to their workshops in October, November, and February.